In 1996 Ken Hansen from Norway used the term ‘Speed Skydiving’ the first time. 1999 was Speed Skydiving's year of birth: 

  • February
George Pilkington organized the first Vertical Mile Race at Skydive Sebastian Florida, United States.
  • April
At Easter weekend Ken Hanse organized the first so called Speed Skydiving competition in Deland Florida, United States.
  • August
George Pilkington organized the first annual Speed Freaks competition at Skydive Hibaldstow, United Kingdom.
  • September
Mike Brooke organized the Millennium Speed Skydiving Competition at Gap, France.
  • November
Ken Hansen organized the first ‘World Speed Skydiving’ competition at Deland Florida, United States.

In 2000 the International Speed Skydiving Association (ISSA) was formed as an association of Speed Skydiving enthusiasts. Since 2000 an annual Speed Skydiving World Series is organized by the ISSA and the discipline and rules were enhanced year by year.

In recent years, the ISSA has looked for the contact, and has intensified the contact to National Airsport Controls NAC and the International Parachuting Commission IPC. Major results of the ISSA approach to NACs and the IPC are:

  • 2000 -

Sweden, the United Kingdom and Austria have approved Speed Skydiving as an official discipline on national level.

  • Jan 2008

In January 2008, Speed Skydiving was presented at the IPC Plenary Meeting in Paris.

  • 2013-2014

During the 2013 Mondial and 2014 DIPC ten of the world's best Speed Skydivers were able to present their sport to a broad international audience in Dubai.

  • Jan 2014

On Saturday February 1st 2014 the IPC Plenary adopted Speed Skydiving officially.

  • Jul 2014
In July 2014 the 1st Dutch Speed Skydiving Nationals took place in Teuge.
  • Aug 2014
In August 2014 the 1st FAI World Cup of Speed Skydiving took place in Prostejov, Czech Republic.